Starting to get settle in here! Getting used to not being able to understand my host dad at all. He has a great mix between a heavy Argentinian accent (there is a very very heavy accent in this country) and an Italian accent. He will talk at me for about 20 minutes at a time and I can understand about 10 words. I was 30 minutes late to dinner today because I got lost trying to get home and he went off. As I listened to him while not understanding anything I realized I will be fine down here!
Had my first tango lesson today! I go to this beautiful studio thats about 12 blocks from my house. The studio is run by none other than Mora Godoy who I'm sure you don't know and I didn't either but apparently is one of the biggest names in Tango! (Mom please skip to the next paragraph) I googled her too and she is pretty impressive, even was the cover girl for Playboy!
The Tango lesson went amazing. A girl from my program just started today too. We both have zero experience in Tango but she competed in ballet for a number of years. However at the end of this first class we were actually doing fairly well and I already signed up for more classes, as well as got a list of tango clubs in the city so game on!
Subway pic of the day is coming as soon as I ride the subway next. But today is a random street in Buenos Aires:

No comments:
Post a Comment